Overblog Suivre ce blog
Editer l'article Administration Créer mon blog

Nouveau billet sur le blog des livres

15 Janvier 2009, 12:24pm

Publié par Fabien Besnard

À propos du livre de David Ruelle, "L'étrange beauté des mathématiques".
Voici le lien.

Commenter cet article

Fabien Besnard 23/01/2009 12:41

Forgot the links, here they are :http://www.cut-the-knot.org/books/Reviews/MathBrain.shtmhttp://www.ams.org/notices/200810/tx081001243p.pdf

Fabien Besnard 23/01/2009 12:39

I found these two reviews, with somewhat opposite conclusions. I think both deliver some truth about the book.

Fabien Besnard 23/01/2009 10:36

Thanks a lot for this information. I'll try to find these reviews and add a link to them.

theoreticalminimum 23/01/2009 00:35

I'm a bit surprised that the French translation of "The Mathematician's Brain" came out only recently! I quite reasonably assumed his book appeared in French first, and the PUP edition, which came out in 2007, was a translation. Funny how things work with Prof Ruelle :) I'm mentioning this because I remember vaguely seeing a review of the book in L'enseignement mathématique. I also think M. Atiyah wrote a review of the book... I very much enjoyed his book, and I think it continues in the tradition of Hadamard, Poincaré, and Hardy, amongst others, of explaning to the lay person how to think about mathematics as a fantastic intellectual human endeavour.

Fabien Besnard 15/01/2009 20:30

Merci Julien pour cet article passionnant sur Rachida Dati !J'étais au courant en fait, et la situation a évolué ce soir : l'oiseau est de retour au nid ! A vrai dire il y a très longtemps que je suis trop pris par d'autres types de recherches pour me pencher sur celle-ci. En tout cas merci pour l'info, et aussi pour votre fidelité !